Second Offense DUI Attorney
When you see the flashing lights in your rear-view mirror and you know have had a drink or two, you may initially think that your second DUI arrest will proceed similar to your first DUI arrest. That isn't true. After the officer runs your license, your first-offense DUI will show up from five years ago, informing the officer that he is now investigating a felony. The officer may be more forceful and demanding this time. In his or her mind, by virtue of your previous conviction, even a whiff of alcohol says you are guilty and that you didn't learn your lesson.
Even though you may rightfully believe that the chemical tests don’t reflect reality, refusal to submit to chemical testing carries a one year suspension followed by four years of an ignition interlock requirement. The officer’s warning of the refusal penalties is quite compelling.
Blinded by science
Because the BAC calculation is based on an average and not an exact science (even though they insist that it is), you might not feel impaired and you actually might not be impaired, but if the numbers insist, then you could be facing the long-term and even life-long consequences of a felony. Because we know the intricacies of the chemical tests, we will hold those who conduct your test liable for any mistakes or failures to follow procedures exactly. The tests don’t work like a thermometer, they require sensitive procedures to assure accuracy.
If you didn’t fight your first-offense DUI aggressively; you should know that you can’t afford to make that mistake again. DUIDefenders.com take every DUI charge seriously. For a second-offense DUI we know what is on the line. We believe the price is too high; and we will fight your conviction any way we can. Below are the Oklahoma penalties for a second-offense DUI if it occurs within 10 years after your first conviction.
Jail: Minimum 1 year in jail up to a maximum of 5 years in jail
Fines: $500 - $2,500 plus court costs
License suspension: 6 months to 1 year
A chemical test refusal will net you a one-year license revocation with a subsequent four years ignition interlock requirement.
An Ignition Interlock device is required for four years or until your license is fully reinstated. (Whichever is longer.)
Reinstatement of your license requires that you show proof of insurance usually in the form of an Oklahoma SR22 insurance policy.
At DUIDefender.com, we understand that you aren't a violent criminal nor did you have criminal intent. That is why we are tenacious defenders. Give us a call today for a free initial consultation. Let’s put your charge behind you.
DUI DEFENDER - (405) 310-2515
Second Offense DUI Attorney in Oklahoma City
101 Park Ave. Suite #205 Oklahoma City, OK 73102 - (405) 310-2515
820 West Robinson St. Norman, OK 73069 - (405) 310-2512
Serving Oklahoma City and the Surrounding Areas.
“Fantastic! Genuinely sincere and nice person, as well as very professional. Helped me deal with my legal recourse as quickly as possible and was very supportive. Highly recommend!”A.G. -
“Andrea provided great service, and Terrance was wonderful at answering all my questions. Everything they said they would do was done in a timely manner.”K.B. -